Eid Ul-adha

Yesterday was a big national holiday in Indonesia and we all had the day off school.

I’m not totally sure, but I think the story goes that there was a prophet, Abraham, and he was asked to show his dedication to God by sacrificing his son. Just as he was about to kill his son, God said that he had proved his dedication and provided him with a goat to sacrifice instead (or something along those lines) so yesterday cows and goats were slaughtered for sacrifice all over Indonesia (and the meat given to the poor/made in to curries as shared with family).

I was a little apprehensive about seeing the slaughter but (as with the funeral experience) I’m aware that I may never get these opportunities again, so we were up early and off to see some sacrificing.

(Some of the photos are pretty gory – beware!)

Poor animals 😦

I am very glad that I saw all of this – it is a great glance in to a completely different culture and religion – but I don’t think I need to see it again for a while!

The rest of the day was very relaxed – I spent the afternoon lounging next to the pool and eating pancakes!

Back to school today – there is so much information to take in – but first, breakfast on the balcony 🙂

2 thoughts on “Eid Ul-adha

  1. Vesna October 17, 2013 / 10:38 pm

    Very interesting – somehow you always seem to end your day lounging by the pool! 😉

Any thoughts?

