Intercontinental Insanity!

Wow, the time really is flying by here!

The rest of the week and my lessons went well and just like that, the weekend is already over!

I have a new class on Friday afternoons – I know what you’re thinking, all my classes are new, but a lot of them I’ve taken over from other teachers whereas this is my own class from the start – and we were playing a game called ‘1 lie and 2 truths’. It’s a classic EFL ice breaker game based on the idea that students must tell you 2 true things about themselves and 1 lie and you have to guess which are which. So there is one boy in this class who said ‘1. Blah blah blah, 2. Blah blah blah and 3. I have a girlfriend.’ It was obvious that #3 was the lie (let’s be honest – you can tell by looking at some teenagers!) but I haven’t quite worked out how to deal with that sort of thing tactfully! Don’t know why I’m sharing this, it just made me chuckle!

I also had a terrifying experience when I was walking home on Saturday night and a rat ran across the road literally millimetres from my bare feet. The open drains here are just horrific! Urgh, just the memory makes me shiver!

Anyway, on to happier things! I had a lovely day yesterday – possibly the best since I arrived!

We went to a fancy hotel in the city for an all you can eat buffet – and I have honestly never seen anything like it – I even tried lobster!

We met up with lots of other English teachers from schools within our company all over the city – it was definitely a case of meeting and introducing myself only to forget their names minutes later (that’s a common occurrence here, unfortunately because it is very unlike me!) but it was at least reassuring to meet lots of people and realise the potential to make friends.

After brunch we spent a few hours lounging around next to the pool and in the hot tub 🙂 The pool was amazing because it felt like it should be on a paradise island somewhere but it was actually surrounded by skyscrapers!

Emma and I are up bright and early today and have already done an exercise DVD (haha!). Breakfast on the balcony and then off to school for a Halloween Party meeting – got another exciting week ahead!

2 thoughts on “Intercontinental Insanity!

  1. Maria Hammett October 28, 2013 / 8:37 am

    Those plates of food – were they all yours?

Any thoughts?

