One Month.

It’s hard to believe that I have been here for 4 whole weeks already – essentially 1/12th of the way through my Indonesian adventure!

I am starting to settle down a little – I think as the year goes on I will need to remind myself that I am here to work, not travel, as life is pretty hectic and I sometimes get frustrated by not having enough free time so visit new places and relax, but I hope that as I start to get more used to planning lessons and work out exactly what I am doing then I will be able to buy myself a little more time. I am finally starting Indonesian lessons this week too, so although that will mean giving up some of my valuable free time, hopefully it will begin to make my day-to-day life slightly easier (and less exhausting!)

A few thoughts to share today:

* I had my first lesson observation the other day and am still waiting for the feedback. Although deep down I know that it went okay, it is still frustrating and nerve wracking having to wait all weekend to hear it!

* I had a new class this morning – my very own group of 7-10 year olds. I was extremely nervous about teaching this age group – they have so much energy! But I was so pleasantly surprised! The students are very bright, and very sweet, and I am actually a little gutted that I will only get one meeting with them every week!

* I have been getting up and going swimming in the mornings before school this week. It means a pretty early start, but it’s a nice way to enjoy (what is often) the best part of the day now rainy season is getting underway.

And some more photos – I have had a few fund days out playing with my DSLR camera this week – I am so glad I decided to get one before coming out here! I see new and exciting things all the time that I want to record and remember (including, but not limited to, the ‘Big Sizes Here’ sign I saw in a shop earlier today – that sort of thing is very useful!)

IMG_0085 IMG_0068

IMG_0202

IMG_0256

And some more fun at the zoo the other day 🙂

Finally, some ‘house keeping’ notes:

* I have no idea why the photos are not always uploading properly – we all know I am no computer expert, but I am trying a few different ways so hopefully you will be able to see them properly soon 🙂

* I have spent a few hours this afternoon replying to all your emails and Facebook messages – I wouldn’t say that  I am homesick as such, but I do miss knowing what is going on in day-to-day life in the UK, so all messages are greatly appreciated!

Have a wonderful weekend 🙂 xxx

One thought on “One Month.

  1. Maria Hammett November 9, 2013 / 5:06 pm

    Aw Sophie – lovely post! So glad you are settling in – can you believe it, 1/12th of the way through, which means only maybe 5/12th (is that right?) to go until I hopefully see you!

Any thoughts?

