Mixed.

I’ve had a mixed week – it started well, and lessons have been great but I managed to pick up a sickness bug from somewhere (I guess it was inevitable) and have been feeling pretty sorry for myself for a few days. There is nothing worse than being away from home when you are sick 😦 I am pleased to report that I was well taken care of though and having been stuffed full of home remedies, am now feeling a lot better!!

On to much happier times – I don’t think I mentioned it on the blog (frankly because I was really pissed off) but I took over a new class on Saturdays last week and due to a few mix ups they had already covered my unit of the book, so I was given free reign to teach what I liked (within reason, and their level) for the next few weeks. At first I was a little daunted at the thought (not having any book to follow but still having a test to pass?! No thanks.) but decided to look at it as a challenge and designed something completely different for today, and it was great! The students designed their own countries and holiday activities, made their own passports and swapped stamps!

A) what a great way to spend a Saturday morning, and B) how adorable are this lot?!!

I also had my first Indonesian lesson this week. I’ve been picking up odd bits and pieces from everyday life, and have an online podcast lesson that I have been workings way through, but we are offered free lessons at school and I decided it was time to just go for it. After an hour I honestly felt like my head was about to explode – I have a renewed appreciation for my students! We are trying to introduce an all-round ‘English only’ rule at school and they all find it extremely difficult to adhere to. I always knew it would be challenging, but there is no way I would have understood everything during the hour if we hadn’t spoken any English at all! I must try to remember to be more understanding..!

Happy Weekend!

One thought on “Mixed.

  1. Vesna November 16, 2013 / 10:32 pm

    I am sure that your Indonesian lessons will be more enjoyable – think how hard Serbian was but you did quite well – and obviously the motivation is there as you need it for everyday communication! ;-)) Vesna

Any thoughts?

