3 Months.

Today marks 3 months since I arrived in Jakarta – It’s hard to believe that it’s been that long since my Bon Voyage party and emotional ride to the airport. I remember getting off the plane and trying to find my luggage as if it were yesterday – I don’t think I’ll be forgetting that feeling of terror for a while!

The time really has flown by though – I’ve taken real comfort in knowing how pleased I was to see friends and workmates again after the Christmas break. I really felt like I was coming home.

I remember being so thrilled to have survived my first week, fortnight, month here that I never could have imagined getting to 3 months – a quarter of a year!! – here. The thought of a year is still pretty daunting but it’s all about taking things a day at a time.

I feel like I’ve finally settled down in my job and day to day life. Of course there are still frustrations – some days I think that this is the most backwards country in the world and wonder why they haven’t worked out how to do the simplest of things more effectively, but I guess that’s what happens when you come from a very developed first world country. Most days, however, I love all the little quirks, and hope I continue to so do.

Here’s to another great 9 months!

2 thoughts on “3 Months.

  1. loubarker January 10, 2014 / 1:45 pm

    I love your blog Soaps!! Keeps me going through uni!! Although missing our 2nd year computer room sessions followed by trips to Barry!! When the times get hard just keep going (esp as I have another 9 months of this and need your blog updates to get me through!) Pleased your now feeling settled the rest will fly by and you won’t want to leave!!

    Muchos Love
    Loub xxx

Any thoughts?

