Back To Normality.

I remember my first few hours, days, weeks here as if they were yesterday. Day-to-day life was a huge struggle and the simplest tasks seemed like swimming through treacle – who knew it could be so hard to get a normal cup of tea?! Coming back after the Christmas break, however, felt very much like coming home and getting back to ‘normal’.

I think that’s why I haven’t been writing much day-to-day stuff lately, because it didn’t seem exciting and interesting anymore, but I know that in years to come this will be the stuff I miss, so here’s to a renewed appreciation 🙂

The latest ‘game’ that Jakarta has thrown at us would be the localised floods. There are a few factors here – a) the school that I work in is in a mall and has no windows, so once I arrive at lunchtime I have no idea what’s the weather is doing. B) the rain is so heavy and the drainage so poor that what appears to be a shower is sometimes easily enough to close roads and displace people from their homes. As a result of all this every day out or trip to school involves the risk of not being able to get home at the end…it’s an novel way to keep things interesting!

Talking of funny weather, did anybody else see the news story about the UKIP representative that blamed the flooding on the fact that gay marriages had been legalised?! What a numpty.

I may have said this before but the rain can actually be enjoyable here – it provides an excuse to do absolutely nothing. I have spent a lot of hours sitting around drinking tea, having a sing song and watching Breaking Bad lately, which has been fantastic (if anybody feels this would be an appropriate time to spoil the ending of BB for me – think again!! It is honestly becoming a part time job trying to avoid spoiling the ending for myself!)

So in the spirit of getting back to the day-to-day musings for which this blog was intended, I cannot believe it is only Wednesday! Only halfway through the week, really?! It’s been dragging to say the least – I have a young (but manic – 16 x 8year olds) class at the moment that I am trying to teach to tell the time, and these classes are so challenging that they somewhat punctuate the week.

There is also the lure of another national holiday next week – I highly recommend to everyone moving to a country that celebrates the holidays of numerous different religions!

Any thoughts?

