On Religion.

I should start this off by saying that I don’t know much at all about the religion on this country – an embarrassingly small amount, actually – and these are just some observations I’ve made over the past few weeks.

Walking to school on Fridays is one of my favourite times of the week – I normally head in to work a little later than usual and as a result catch everyone on the way to and from the midday prayer. Sometimes I forget just how far away from home I am, but seeing everyone wandering to the Mosque with their prayer mats is a real reminder of the cultural differences between Jakarta and Plymouth!

One of my favourite aspects of the praying culture, is seeing groups of teenagers hanging around with their mopeds outside the Mosque and going to pray together. It’s a sad fact thy if this were happening in the UK, the kids would probably be getting bullied.

On a similar note, 2 of my students were singing in class the other day and I didn’t recognise the song so I asked them what it was. Their reply ‘ah miss, it’s this really cool Christian Rock band!’.

I can honestly say that I’ve never heard a teenager say anything like that before.

Whether you are religious or not, and regardless of which God you believe in, there’s no disputing the impact that religion has in everyone’s life here, and that’s kinda refreshing to see.

Any thoughts?

