Curhat.

Curhat is one of my favourite Indonesian words – it literally translates as ‘pour heart’ – or to pour your heart out, in all matters concerning your life.

I’ve been trying to decide for the past few months whether I want to spend another year here in Indonesia. Before I left the UK, I only ever planned on coming here for a year and then moving on to somewhere else, but I guess I wasn’t expecting to fall in love with the place as much as I have.

20140829-113300-41580569.jpg
I mean seriously, what’s not to love about this?! 🙂

Really though, a year is a long time to be away from my nearest and dearest and it took some serious consideration. I mean, I have changed a lot over the past 10months and I am convinced that change has been equally as fast paced at home (and that I’m missing out), although I expect I will return and realise that this is not the case.

A friend told me recently ‘you’re doing things I could only dream of and more’ – Yes sure I am having a great time, but in terms of actual grown up life, I’m not making that much progress. I can navigate day to day life in a different culture, but I am not in a long term ‘career’ job. I can (half) speak another language but I’m not saving any money….the list goes on.

So all of this aside I finally decided to suck it up – I know that if I were to give this up right now, I’d be miserable – I’m not ready to say goodbye just yet.

In light of all this, my visa is being processed as we speak but Indonesia has had its fair share of political instability lately so nothing is certain. All we can do it sit and hope…in the mean time I am very much looking forward to a ‘holiday’ home!

Any thoughts?

