One Year.

I can hardly believe that it’s been a whole year since I started this adventure.

365 days ago I arrived in Jakarta and Asia for the first time, with little to no idea of what lay ahead of me.

20141008-205818-75498502.jpg

I was hit by a massive wave of heat and humidity as I stepped out of the airport, full of nerves about meeting my new workmates. I had no idea that they would become my family here.

20141008-210759-76079693.jpg

I got so lucky. Seriously, of all the schools that could have offered me jobs, I count my blessings every day that it was this one. All of the horror stories that I’ve heard about TEFL teachers going abroad and not making friends were terrifying, but they seem completely absurd to me now – I have the best working atmosphere and colleagues ever!

I don’t know what I can say to sum up this year. It’s been difficult at times, of course, but I’ve loved almost every minute. New friends, new language (complete with hilarious misunderstandings), new places to explore.

20141009-144902-53342574.jpg

Here’s to another year (fingers crossed!)

One thought on “One Year.

  1. Vesna Hawley October 10, 2014 / 7:41 am

    Congratulations , Sophie! Keep posting your comments and adventures- I love reading them!! Good luck and enjoy!
    Vesna
    Xxx

Any thoughts?

