Lacking In inspiration.

To be honest, I’m totally lacking in ideas about things to share with you today, so just a little life update šŸ™‚

I’m finally back in to the swing of life at school – my planning schedule is pretty hectic as my timetable is full of courses that I’ve never taught before. My favourite group are a conversation class. I was horribly nervous about this – the focus obviously needs to be on the students talking, but I’m always paranoid about spending the whole 2 hours talking at them! My fears were pretty unfounded though – we’ve been having a really good time. Last night, the class was all about small talk. Small talk and chit chat are something that I didn’t realise my life was lacking, until I returned to the UK and was able to talk about silly, everyday things to anybody (my shopping experience here is very different ‘do you need a bag?’ – ‘no thanks’ – ‘okay bye’ – ‘bye’!!) We spent 2 hours pretending we were at fancy parties or business meetings – they assumed characters and everyone was giggling away šŸ™‚ šŸ™‚ IĀ  was pretty nervous about this lesson beforehand, wasn’t sure if they would understand or appreciate the concept of small talk, but it worked perfectly. I love it when that happens!

On Sunday we went on a school trip to Kidzania, in Central Jakarta. It’s a play centre based around helping children choose a career – they can try out being a doctor, fireman, DJ! (Also, selling petrol, making noodles and answering the phones for a taxi firm!)

IMG_5395.JPG

IMG_5399.JPG

It was a fun, albeit completely exhausting, day out!

I’ve spent most of the day today trying to organise our school Christmas party for next week. My housemate, Emma, and I want to plan an award ceremony – it’s only a bit of fun but we’ve asked every member of staff to vote for different categories (person with the messiest desk, person who consumes the most coffee, office agony aunt etc) – I know it’s going to be great but the organisation is a bit of a nightmare! I also have no idea what to buy for my Secret Santa present! #festiveproblems!

2 thoughts on “Lacking In inspiration.

  1. Maria Hammett December 9, 2014 / 2:39 pm

    Well, I think that entry WAS inspired! Can’t wait to read Will’s blog (but think I might have to!)

    • Sophie @ Sophie Speaking December 10, 2014 / 3:08 am

      Aw thanks Mummy šŸ™‚ haha I think you may – I’ll try to hold the fort on the child updates front!

Any thoughts?

