Life Lessons Learnt When Sick 12,000 Km Away From Home.

The reason I’ve been so quiet on the blog this week (already falling behind with my 3 post a week schedule – nightmare!) is because I’ve been glued to my sofa for the last 5 days suffering from typhus or typhoid (or possibly a combination of the 2 if that’s possible – not actually sure because of the language barrier but we’ll get to that later).

2015/01/img_6062.png

I’d been feeling under the weather for about a week before I actually visited the doctor. The language barrier and a slight lack of trust in Asian medicine (too much emphasis on herbs!) make it something that I try to avoid, but needs must and all that!

This week has taught me a few things though…
Lesson #1) Always take a friend to the doctor/hospital/dentist! If they can speak the local language then that’s great, but even if they can’t the moral support is invaluable.
Lesson #2) Be imaginative with your language use. Eg, if you want to say ‘blood’ but don’t know the correct word, try ‘red’, or ‘tired tired tired tired tired’ is a good substitute for ‘exhausted’! Body language and gestures go a long way too!

Fast forward a few days, a crap ton (technical term) of medicine and a blood test in a little hut on the side of the road (it’s a good job I’m not OCD about health and hygiene!) and the diagnosis is in….typhoid. At least I thought that’s what I was told – I’ve since heard typhus.

Lesson #3) Apparently typhoid and typhus are not the same thing.
Lesson #4) Having a vaccination does not necessarily give you 100% protection from these things.

So I’ve spent 6 of the last 7 days glued to my sofa, chain watching American sitcoms and feeling truly sorry for myself. There were a few hours on Wednesday afternoon where if I was well enough to travel I would have 100% have been on a flight back to London.

Lesson #5) It’s important to remember that illness makes your mood plummet and declaring that you’re ‘the most miserable you’ve ever been in your life’ will not help! Must.remain.optimistic!

Having spent a week pumping myself full of antibiotics, herbal remedies, guava and cucumbers (good for typhus, apparently!) I’m finally starting to feel a bit better. It’ll still be another few days before I’m able to go back to work, but thankfully I seem to be on the mend 🙂

Lesson #6) My friends are actually guardian angels!
Lesson #7) Herbal medicine may be worth something after all!

Brain dump over. Here’s to a speedy recovery….

6 thoughts on “Life Lessons Learnt When Sick 12,000 Km Away From Home.

  1. Rozenn January 28, 2015 / 7:56 pm

    Hope you are getting better very soon Sophie, we are all thinking of you. 😍

  2. dianerosemary2014 January 27, 2015 / 7:18 am

    Just read this episode Sophie; I’m sorry you are so ill. I hope you are feeling much better by now. Do take care.
    Love Di x

    • Sophie @ Sophie Speaking January 30, 2015 / 12:52 pm

      Thanks Di 🙂 it’s pretty rough but I’m feeling much better after an interesting hospital experience!

  3. Vesna Hawley January 23, 2015 / 8:42 pm

    Indeed Sophie- I wish you a speedy, speedy, speedy recovery! You already sound better! Xxx

Any thoughts?

