A Holiday On Holiday!

I’ve been trying to make the most of my time at home – so at the weekend I jetted off to The Netherlands to visit an old school friend.

IMG_4964.JPG
It was wonderful! I know I sound typically British here, but we got SO lucky with with weather!

IMG_5015.JPG

Romin is based in Utrecht, so we spent Saturday exploring. The best part was all the cheese!!

IMG_4959.JPG
Part of me is honestly worried about returning to Indonesia and leaving the cheddar-y goodness!

Everywhere was so picturesque and traditionally European – I loved just walking around the city and soaking it all in.

IMG_4968.JPG

On Saturday night we sampled some local beer and stayed up far too late discussing everything that we’d missed over the past few months – I love being reunited with old friends!

IMG_4971.JPG

IMG_4965.JPG

Despite all the beer that needed to be drunk, cheese that needed to be eaten and gossip that needed to be shared, we still managed to squeeze 2 day trips in…

Day #1 – The Hague.

IMG_5003.JPG
The Hague is the old political part of the country – I didn’t really know what to expect but we packed the bikes on to the train, and it was beautiful.

There was so many places that I saw and thought ‘wow, I really want to live here for a little while!’

IMG_4977.JPG

IMG_5011.JPG

IMG_5032.JPG

We even made it to the beach! ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚

IMG_5027.JPG

It was so much fun to explore other parts of the country.

Day #2 – Amsterdam, and the Rijks museum.

IMG_5063.JPG

IMG_5064.JPG
The most interesting part of the museum was all about the Dutch invasion of Indonesia. Check out the batik and gamelan!

There was also a great exhibition that reminded me of Humans of New York, by a photographer that was interested in how varied the Dutch population was, so he started taking pictures and recording the subjects’ date of birth and professions.

IMG_5088.JPG

I also had a picture taken outside the museum, to match one that I took when I visited Amsterdam 5 years ago!

IMG_5095.JPG
Left: Boiling in 2009. Right: Shivering in 2014!!

And there you have it – just a little snapshot of a wonderful trip ๐Ÿ™‚

Any thoughts?